June 18, 2007

They are not just admiring the pharaonic opening ceremony and the Games. They are working to make WAKO greater and greater.
The highest IOC authorities were there together with the leaders of OCA. And Nasser Nassiri had the opportunity to meet many of them.
Nasser Nassiri, President of Wako Asian Continental Division with Driss El Hilali of Royal Moroccan Kickboxing Federation in VIP room at the Khalifa stadium in Doha at the opening ceremony of 15th Asian Games.
A spectacular three hour opening ceremony on December 1st officially kicked-off the 15th Asian Games at the state-of-the-art Khalifa Stadium despite torrential rains at once stage to disrupt the proceeding. By some miracles, rain pretty much stopped during the course of the ceremony although it sent people scuttling back and forth from their seats in the preshow event.

The opening ceremony was all it had been cracked up to be by the organizers. Fireworks galore, a history of science, the desert meeting the sea – the opening had it all.

Several prominent world figures including heads of state and chiefs of various world sports federations witnessed the opening ceremony which was conceived and carried out by artistic director David Atkins, the man behind the ceremonies at Sydney 2000 Olympics. The well-directed opening ceremony was an astute depiction of the Arab world reaching out to the Asian continent. Among those present at the ceremony were Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmainajad, International Olympic Committee (IOC) boss Jacques Rogge, H H Sheikh Ahmed Al Sabah, the chairman of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) and Fifa chief Sepp Blatter.

H H Sheikh Ahmed Al Sabah, the chairmain of OCA, praised Qatar in bringing the Games to the Middle East for the first time.

(extract from The Peninsula- a Doha daily English news paper)

See other news like this:

23 May 2024
WADA publishes new Guidelines for Major Events
20 May 2024
Official Invitation to the WAKO Youth World Kickboxing Championships (All Disciplines), Budapest (Hungary), 23 August – 1 September 2024